CITY AND COUNTY OF SWANSEA

MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL

HELD AT COUNCIL CHAMBER, GUILDHALL, SWANSEA ON THURSDAY, 24 AUGUST 2017 AT 3.00 PM

PRESENT: Councillor D W W Thomas (Chair) Presided

Councillor(s)	Councillor(s)	Councillor(s)
P M Black	J E Burtonshaw	J P Curtice
A M Day	P Downing	C R Doyle
M Durke	E W Fitzgerald	R Francis-Davies
S J Gallagher	L S Gibbard	K M Griffiths
J A Hale	D W Helliwell	T J Hennegan
C A Holley	O G James	L James
M H Jones	P Jones	L R Jones
J W Jones	E J King	E T Kirchner
M A Langstone	M B Lewis	R D Lewis
W G Lewis	A S Lewis	C E Lloyd
P Lloyd	I E Mann	P M Matthews
C L Philpott	S Pritchard	C Richards
K M Roberts	B J Rowlands	P B Smith
R V Smith	R C Stewart	D G Sullivan
G J Tanner	W G Thomas	M Thomas
L J Tyler-Lloyd	G D Walker	L V Walton
T M White		

Apologies for Absence

Councillor(s): S E Crouch, V M Evans, C R Evans, W Evans, F M Gordon, P R Hood-Williams, B Hopkins, D H Hopkins, S M Jones, P N May, D Phillips, A Pugh, J A Raynor, M Sherwood, A H Stevens, M Sykes and L G Thomas

51. DISCLOSURES OF PERSONAL AND PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS.

The Head of Legal, Democratic Services and Business Intelligence gave advice regarding the potential personal and prejudicial interests that Councillors and / Officers may have on the agenda.

The Head of Democratic Services reminded Councillors and Officers that the "Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests" sheet should only be completed if the Councillor / Officer actually had an interest to declare. Nil returns were not required. Councillors and Officers were also informed that any declarable interest must be made orally and in writing on the sheet.

In accordance with the provisions of the Code of Conduct adopted by the City and County of Swansea no interests were declared.

Minutes of the Council (24.08.2017) Cont'd

52. CONFERRING TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN PURSUANT TO SECTION 249 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 - FORMER COUNCILLORS R G DAVIES, J NEWBURY, I M RICHARD, R J STANTON & C THOMAS.

The Lord Mayor stated that Council at its meeting on 22 June 2017 (Minute 26 refers) resolved in principle to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the following former Councillors R G Davies, J Newbury, I M Richard, R J Stanton and C Thomas in recognition of their long and eminent service to the City and Council of Swansea and its predecessor Authorities..

The title is derived from the Old English title of "Ealdorman", literally meaning "Elder Man", and was used by the Chief Nobles presiding over Shires. The position of Honorary Alderman / Honorary Alderwoman is non political.

The title is used within the City and County of Swansea as a reward for individuals who have reached the end long and eminent services to the Council providing the criteria has been met.

R G Davies

Former Councillor R G Davies served the Landore community and was Lord Mayor of the City and County of Swansea 1994-1995. His period of service being:

Swansea City Council. 12 December 1974 to 31 March 1996.

J Newbury

Former Councillor J Newbury served the Dunvant community. He was Lord Mayor of the City and County of Swansea 2015-2016. His periods of service being:

- Swansea City Council. 7 May 1987 to 31 March 1996;
- City and County of Swansea. 4 May 1995 to 4 May 2017.

I M Richard

Former Councillor I M Richard served the Mawr community. He was Lord Mayor of the City and County of Swansea 2011-2012. His periods of service being:

- ➤ Lliw Valley Borough Council. 14 November 1985 to 31 March 1996;
- City and County of Swansea. 4 May 1995 to 4 May 2017.

R J Stanton

Former Councillor R J Stanton served the Sketty community. She was Lord Mayor of the City and County of Swansea 2013-2014. Her periods of service being:

- Swansea City Council. 5 May 1988 to 31 March 1996;
- ➤ West Glamorgan County Council. 4 May 1989 to 31 March 1996.
- City and County of Swansea. 4 May 1995 to 4 May 2017.

Minutes of the Council (24.08.2017) Cont'd

C Thomas

Former Councillor C Thomas served the Mynyddbach community. She was Lord Mayor of the City and County of Swansea 2014-2015. Her periods of service being:

- > Swansea City Council. 23 May 1990 to 31 March 1996;
- ➤ City and County of Swansea. 4 May 1995 to 4 May 2017.

The Leaders of each of the Political Groups and some other Councillors paid tribute to the long and eminent service of these former Councillors stating that their cumulative combined service was in excess of 136 years.

RESOLVED that in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Former Councillors R G Davies, J Newbury, I M Richard, R J Stanton and C Thomas in recognition of their long and eminent service to the City and Council of Swansea and its predecessor Authorities.

The meeting ended at 3.39 pm

CHAIR